Joseph M. Coney, M.D.


Joseph M. Coney, M.D.Ophthalmic Specialty

Diseases of the Retina and Vitreous

Diabetic Retinopathy
Macular Degeneration
Retinal Detachment/Tear
Ophthalmic Trauma

Laser Surgery



Medical School: Loyola-Stritch School of Medicine, Maywood, Illinois – MD 1995-1999

Ophthalmology Residency: Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland, Ohio – 2000 – 2003

Fellowship: Joslin Diabetes Center, affiliate of Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts   2003 – 2004

Surgical Retina Fellowship: Vitreoretinal Foundation, Memphis Tennessee, 2004-2006

Certification: Board Certification, Licensure to practice medicine in Ohio and Illinois


Fight for Sight Summer Student Fellowship, 2006
Joseph Peters Scholarship Award, 2003
American Heart Association Undergraduate Student Fellowship, 2002
Schawe Scholarship, 2001 Awarded for high achievement in academic scholarship

Professional Positions

Retina Associates of Cleveland, 2006 – Private practice in vitreoretinal surgery and diseases.

National Medical Association Incoming Chair, Executive Committee Member, Ophthalmology Section, 2014 & 2015 President, Ophthalmology Section, 2013–2015 President-elect, Ophthalmology Section, 2011–2013 Councilor to the American Academy of Ophthalmology Council, 2009–2013 Chair, Retina Section, 2009–2012 Postgraduate Section liaison, 2005 – Board of Directors, Ophthalmology Section, 2005 – Secretary, Ophthalmology Section, 2005–2012

American Academy of Ophthalmology Member, Knowledge Base Subcommittee – Retina/Vitreous Panel, 2013 – Selected participant, Leadership Development Program, 2007–2008 Project: National Medical Association Health Fair and Eye Care America Initiative

Ohio Ophthalmological Society President-elect, 2016 – Secretary/Treasurer, 2014–2016 Board of Directors, District 5 Representative, 2012

Cleveland Ophthalmological Society President, 2014–2015 President-elect, 2013–2014 Vice-president, 2012–2013Retina Associates of Cleveland, 2006 to present, Secretary, 2011-2012

Diabetes Partnership of Cleveland (formerly the Diabetes Association of Greater Cleveland) Co-chair, Program Committee, 2013 – Board of Directors, 2006

Eyetech Inc. Clinical Advisory Board, 2008–2010 Allergan

US Retina Regional Scientific Advisory Board, 2012 – Clinical Advisory Board, 2010–2011

Genentech Lucentis Business Strategy National Advisory Board, 2012

Retina Specialist Speakers Bureau, 2012

Thrombogenics Regional Council on Ocriplasmin, 2013


1. Multiple publications
2. Visit:


Top Doctors, 2015

Special Recognition Award, 2013 American Academy of Ophthalmology Leadership Development Program Service Award, 2013 National Medical Association, Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Service Award, 2011 National Medical Association, Washington, DC

America’s Top Ophthalmologists, Consumers Research Council of America, 2007

Cambridge Who’s Who of Executives and Professionals, Honored Life Time Member, 2007

Service Award, 2006 National Medical Association; Dallas, Texas

Rabb-Venable Award for Outstanding Fellow Research Presentation, 2004 National Medical Association; San Diego, California

Rabb-Venable Award for Outstanding Resident Research Presentation, 2003 National Medical Association; Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Outstanding Resident Research Award, 2003 Case Western Reserve University; Cleveland, Ohio

Janice Douglas-David Satcher Clerkship, 1999 Case Western Reserve University; Cleveland, Ohio